quilt squarequilt squarequilt squarequilt squarequilt square

sew n sew title
quilt squarequilt squarequilt squarequilt squarequilt square

thread

Winter 2023 Calendar

The calendar for Winter 2023 is below.  Workshops are in Bold type, and the supply lists for each workshop are in the next article.

 

Friday, January 6         Business Meeting, 10:00am

Tuesday, January 10    Ann Mason and Barbara Hansen-
                                     Placemat workshop

Thursday, January 12     Shop Hop

Friday, January 13    Embroidery Group Meets

Tuesday, January 17*

Friday, January 20*

Tuesday, January 24     Suzanne Shelton-
                                      Easy Bargello Wallhanging, 33x40

Friday, January 27       Embroidery Group Meets

Tuesday, January 31*     

Friday, February 3     Charity Sew Day

Tuesday, February 7*

Friday, February 10     Embroidery Group Meets

Tuesday, February 14       Gail Frenz- BQ2 quilt, 54x67

Friday, February 17*

Tuesday, February 21     Charity Sew Day

Friday, February 24*

Tuesday, February 28     Chris Beadle- Fabric Box

Friday, March 3*

Tuesday, March 7*

Friday, March 10*

Tuesday, March 14     Luncheon

Friday, March 17    Show and Tell

Tuesday, March 21*

Friday, March 24*

Tuesday, March 28*

Friday, March 31*

 

*- Open Sew

Printable 2023 Sew-N-Sew Calendar 

 

 

 

Print

Winter 2023 Workshop Supply Lists

 

To download a PDF file with the supply lists and pictures for all four workshops, CLICK HERE.

Sew-n-Sews Workshops 2023

 

Ann Mason and Barbara Hansen Instructors
Placemats or Table Topper

Mason Hansen 1
 






Mason Hansen 2  

                                                                       Optional center embroidery

 Materials:

Placemats 4 6
feature fabric 2/3 yd (60 cm) 1 1/8 yd (1 m)
coordinate 1/2 yd (45 cm) 5/8 yd (55 cm)
backing & batting
(based on 45" width).  
1 yd (90 cm) 1 3/8 yd (1.25 m)

 Placemat size 14.5" x 14.5" (37 cm x 37 cm)

 Table Toppers  medium  large
 feature fabric  1/3 yd (30 cm)  5/8 yd (55 cm)
 coordinate  1/3 yd (30 cm)  1/2 yd (45 cm)
 backing and batting  2/3 yd (60 cm)  3/4 yd (70 cm)

   Table Topper size
        medium  19.5" x 19.5" (50 cm x 50 cm) 
        large       24.5" x 24.5" (62 cm x 62 cm)

 

Chris Beadle Instructor
Fabric Box

beadle fabric box

Beautiful fabric boxes. They are perfect for co-workers, small gifts... or just keep them around the house. Make them for Birthdays, Christmas, Valentines Day, 4th of July.

Materials:

2 10 x 10" fabric squares
1 10 x 10" batting square
thread
buttons (4)

Equipment: 

Sewing machine
Rulers
Scissors
Pins (optional)
Iron and Iron board or pad

 

Suzanne Shelton Instructor
Easy Bargello Wallhanging

Bargello wallhanging33" x 40"

 

Supply List- 1 1/2 yards of gradation fabric

Bargello fabricSuzanne used this one

                    

 

Gail Frenz Instructor
BQ2 Quilt

Shelton Bargello masculine quilt

BQ2 Maple Island Quilts

Size: 54" x 67 1/2"

This beautiful up-tempo quilt is made from just 3 fabrics, one of which is a large print focus fabric. And if you wish to be creative with your embroidery machine, the focus fabric could be various embroideries. Follow this link for a gallery of photos to help you choose your 3 fabrics. BQ Nation - Maple Island Quilts

Fabric Requirements:

Large Lap- 20 13 1/2" blocks= 54" x 67 1/2"

(Note that the fabrics in this pattern are listed as a letter, so we should stick with that nomenclature of fabric A, D, L).

Shelton Bargello block

Fabric A: (focus fabric)- 1 1/2 yards or 20 9 1/2' squares

Fabric D: (accent fabric)- 1 1/4 yards 

Fabric L: (background fabric)- 1 1/2 yards

Binding: 5/8 yard

Backing: 3 1/2 yards

Batting: 60" x 74"

 

 

  

Print

Surgical Hats for Pediatric Surgical Patients

Golisano Children's Hospital needs surgical caps for their pediatric surgical patients.  Sew-N-Sews are asking members to each make one surgical cap this summer, and bring it in the fall to donate to Golisano.  Instructions for making the surgical caps can be downloaded by clicking here:

Pediatric Surgical Caps Instructions

Print